RSS

Keep leading the way comrades

12 Jun

I must confess I really wanted to run with Indlela Ibuzwa Kwabaphambili as my title for this week’s piece. But I shelved the idea after a few intra personal questions and answers. I could hear others say who does he think he is, ubona angani nguMthunywa lowu? Let me hasten to mention though that it is still a befitting title.

There is an often-quoted African saying, “It takes a village to raise a child.” It is not just relatives and friends but anyone who interacts with a child that has a responsibility for them. What this practically means is that in public spaces if someone sees a child doing something wrong or getting into danger then they will step in, even before asking the parent if they can intervene.

I believe I am one person that has been raised by a village. I mean the arts industry village.

Nkululeko I Dube

Nkululeko I Dube

I have come to a point where I feel I have done things and people are now paying attention to what I do. I have been involved in projects that I never dreamed of and met the kind of people that are only seen on TV’s and papers. I want to be quick to say that all that I am now is 30% me and 70% village. This could be one of those haaaa this guy is blabbering pieces, but who knows it could push or inspire another to dream.

I started my art on stage with renowned poet Thabo J. Nkomo of border voices in Plumtree. He pushed me to like art. He is now a travelled teacher having taught art in the UK and South Africa (his current base).Since then I have met Themba “Giant” Ncube who introduced me to visual arts, I can make metal sculpture, I even made a few thousand dollars and Pulas in Namibia and Botswana, respectively, through visual arts.

Saimon Mambazo Phiri

Saimon Mambazo Phiri

After that foundation I have rubbed shoulders with Mqoqi Nkomo of Umdumo Wesizwe, Cont Mhlanga, Saimon Mambazo Phiri, Raisedon Baya, Sarah Mpofu, Jeys Marabini, William Nyandoro, Matesu Dube, Memory Kumbota, Javas Sibanda, Sihlangu Dlodlo, Nicholas Moyo, Babongile Sikhonjwa and Nkululeko I Dube to name a few. That’s like one of the most colourful families ever. Even the Kardashians will be drooling at my amazing village. Mqoqi led me to my passion (music), I travelled the world with Umdumo Wesizwe. Saimon Mambazo saw my potential outside of the stage and introduced me to management and Ibumba Festival. I know it was hard for my colleagues at Umdumo when I first started with Ibumba, they felt betrayed. It was at a time when groups would not really interact and it was tabooish to work with two groups. So Mbazo introduced me to his then administrator Javas Sibanda.

Javas Sibanda

Javas Sibanda

He is the man that introduced me to the real side of computers (not computer games, movies and music), I now can do just about anything with a computer. The three of us made things happen, I started to grow and made friends that drove my other passion (media). I became THE press liaison thanks to Lenin, Delta and Smiso. Other groups and institutions started knocking at my door.

Raisedon Baya

Raisedon Baya

I then met Raisedon Baya, he wanted someone to handle press for Intwasa Arts Festival KoBulawayo, I accepted. He believed in me some more. I never imagined his kind making friends with my kind. He fed my hunger to grow, I started to dream even bigger. The honour of giving a platform to many artists in Zimbabwe compares to none. Giving back to the community became my number one dream. Festivals became my number one passion, I was part of something amazing from Ibumba Festival to Intwasa. I remembered how WOMAD and Glastonbury made me smile, I created a festival concept as a way of giving back to the community, Nkululeko I Dube and Sihlangu Dlodlo bought into the idea and Beitbridge International Festival of Arts was born.

Cont Mhlanga

Cont Mhlanga

Many have helped in creating brand Nkue Nkala. I remember when Jeys Marabini asked me to help him with his festival Bulawayo Comes Alive I was over the moon. Babongile said either do it in style or go home.The advice and support I have gotten from Matesu Dube, Memory Kumbota, William Nyandoro, Sarah Mpofu and Nicholas Moyo is that kind that costs millions but they have been there to guide and pick up the pieces for free. Cont Mhlanga is a legend in the industry, he has my number, he calls now and again (still overwhelms me).The moral of this story is, you are not just an artist or just anybody. There are no boundaries. We can grow and keep growing. Align yourself and dare to dream. I am still growing and I believe.

Until next, week be safe…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Keep leading the way comrades

  1. Raisedon Baya

    June 12, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks for the mention. We still have more kilometres to travel

    Like